Jacob – Chapter Five

Dear Journal,

I’m sorry I’ve neglected you for so long.  Things got really busy after the girls were born.  Not that they were really any trouble, except Randi and I are outnumbered five-two!

Between teaching Andrew and Aaron to walk and talk…

…And making sure Alora and Alyssa were fed, clean, and happy, Randi and I barely had any time to ourselves.  Not to mention privacy.  Avery has shared our bed since he outgrew his crib.  We haven’t had the money–or the space!–for a big boy bed for him.

Avery’s a sweet boy, though, and doesn’t seem to mind.  He even helps out around the house; doing dishes, pulling weeds, and even cleaning out the younger boys’ potty!  I don’t thank him as much as I should, Journal, but when I have time I take a moment to tell him how much he’s loved and appreciated.

Dear Journal,

Andrew and Aaron just turned five, and they started school last month.  Things have finally become a lot less hectic around here!

Our little girls have grown a lot since my last entry, as well!  Alyssa (above) and Alora (below) bring such joy to our lives.  Sometimes it’s hard to tell them apart, especially since Randi just can’t resist dressing them alike and doing their hair the same.  Luckily, they’re very different facially, so I can usually distinguish between them.  Alyssa has my eyes, but her facial structure is more like Randi’s, whereas Alora has Randi’s eyes, and her facial structure is more like mine.

Alora is more outgoing, and always wants to be in the thick of things.  She doesn’t like to sleep, probably because she feels like she’ll miss something.  It can be a struggle to get her down for the night.

Alyssa seems to enjoy playing by herself more than anything.  She gets annoyed if Alora tries to play with her, and has trouble sharing. 

She’s not the only one having trouble!  Andrew is always asking to follow his friends home from school instead of coming straight home.  Randi says it’s healthy for him to have friends, but I don’t like the way he acts when he gets back.  He’s always talking about how nice everyone else’s houses are copared to ours, and I heard him complaining to Randi the other day because we don’t have a TV and a computer.  No way will those implements of death ever be in my house!  I’ve seen what harm they can cause, Journal, and it’s not going to happen to anyone I love!

Dear Journal,

Randi was finally able to go back to work this year.  She misses the kids, but she’s so excited to be able to help bring in some income.

It was because of the bonuses she’s been getting that we were able to expand the house again, and buy Avery his own bed, finally!

It’s a good thing, too, because he was definitely getting way too big to be sharing a bed with his parents.  As soon as he got old enough to decide for himself how to keep his hair, he started growing it out.  He also grew a tiny little beard–he calls it a “soulpatch”–and I have to admit, Journal, I’m a little bit jealous.  I never shave, and yet, I have no facial hair.  Apparently, I’m unable to grow any.

Avery and I are still best buddies, though, and I don’t let my soulpatch-envy get in the way of that.  He really enjoys helping me with the plants, and has expressed an interest in botany and science.  I know he’ll do great things.

Aaron, on the other hand, prefers to laze about on the couch all day, reading.  Don’t get me wrong, reading is great!  All my kids are avid readers, but when you let it get in the way of schoolwork, it can be a bad thing.  We’ve had to enforce a “homework first” rule with him.  Most of the other kids do their homework without being asked, but not Aaron.

Dear Journal,

I can’t believe Randi and I are the parents of three teenaged boys, already!  Not to mention how big Alyssa and Alora are getting.  Like my plants, my kids are growing strong.

Andrew and Aaron have teamed up against me in the fight for a TV, but I’m not giving in.  I tell them there are better things they can do with their time.  I don’t want to tell them the real reason: that I’m too scared to have one around my family.  Randi knows, though, and even if she doesn’t understand why, she silently supports my stance, and refuses to listen to the boys’ pleadings.

“Your father said no, and that’s that,” she’ll say.

Alyssa and Alora are gorgeous young ladies, each with their own interests.  For twins, they couldn’t really be more different.

Alora is very artistic, and she begged and begged for an easel.  I was happy to oblige her for her latest birthday.

Alyssa’s birthday wish was a little harder.  Telescopes are expensive!  But Randi managed to find a used one at the consignment shop, so both my little princesses were able to obtain their hearts’ desires.

But the best news, Journal?  Randi and I are going to have another baby!  It came as a bit of a surprise, but definitely a happy one.  I can’t wait to meet the newest member of our family.

Dear Journal,

Well, I’ve let time slip away from me again.  I guess Randi and I got out of practice with newborns, since Alora and Alyssa are so much older than our new little girl, Alaina.

Or maybe it’s just because we’re older now.  Anyway, after Alaina was born, I rarely had the energy to keep up with the garden, let alone with you, Journal.

Alaina is already two, and everyone in the family loves her.

Alora and Alyssa have joined the boys in high school, all except Avery, who has graduated and begun work at the Science Center.  His paychecks really help out here at home.

That was the reason we were able to build onto our home, again.  Randi and I finally have a proper bedroom, now.  It’s great to have some privacy, even though we still share the room with Alaina.

I’d like to replace some of our appliances, soon.  The toilet breaks on almost a daily basis, but I’ve gotten pretty good at fixing it, at least.

As it is, we spent most of our savings on a new sprinkler system for the plants.  They cut my gardening time in half, and keep everything nice and healthy.

The plants aren’t the only ones who love the new sprinklers.  Aside from Andrew and Alyssa, who don’t really enjoy outdoor activities, most of the family can often be found out in the garden, playing in the water.

Dear Journal,

Well, my last baby started school today.  I can’t believe Alaina’s in Kindergarten already!  I feel old, which is amazing, considering I wasn’t ever really young, unless you count mentally.  And mentally, I’m still a young man.


Andrew and Alyssa have been spending a lot of time together lately.  They seem to be like-minded, and get along pretty well.

They both have a weird infatuation with talking to themselves in the mirror.  It seems unhealthy to me, but I let them be.

Still, their newfound friendship has caused problems between Aaron and Andrew.  Aaron is Andrew’s twin, and feels left out when his brother talks more to Alyssa than to him.  Luckily, Andrew’s pretty good at diffusing Aaron’s anger.  Alora, unlike Aaron, gets along with everyone, and isn’t the jealous type. 

Although some of us have our differences, I couldn’t be prouder of my family.  As a soulless creature, I never imagined what it would be like to want to be surrounded by children–or even to have children, as imps cannot–and happiness was just another human word to me.  Now, I wouldn’t change anything for the world.

10 responses to “Jacob – Chapter Five

  1. I LOVE Alora!! She’s my favorite! =]

  2. Beautiful! I’m loving all the children! I can’t wait to see who gets selected as the next heir!

  3. Is it just me or are Andrew and Alyssa kind of creepy with those eyes? Also, where did Andrew’s blond hair come from? Funny that he got the light hair and Jacob’s pale skin…it’s a strange combination!

    Can’t wait to see who the heir is!!

  4. Daww, the whole family just ended up so cute! =D I’m glad that Jacob found happiness in such a…big way!

  5. What a great ending Styx!! The kids all look fun to play I think Iknow which one I want to pick…but i’ll see when I get them in game! I can’t promise the next generation will be this happy though I got some twisted ideas mwahaha!!!

  6. What a great family! Can’t wait to see who the next heir will be!

  7. ❤ ❤ Loved it. ^^

Leave a comment